While rice cooks, prepare kofta. I recommend Casbah brand which can be found at Whole Foods and is healthier than Mahatma. I'm a former professional chef from NYC who loves to eat, cook and talk about food. My hubs and I fought over the last meatball (more like meat-oval, but you get it). While rice cooks, prepare kofta. I also substituted the cilantro with mint because I am one of those people. My kids (7 & 4) ate it enthusiastically! After cooking it was slightly greasy... draining lightly and served. Gently flatten between the palm of your hands. It was quick and delicious! I subbed the lamb for ground chicken and used yellow rice. One last note on the kofta is that I thought the cooking time was a bit long – mine were done in around 8 minutes total. Place a large sauté pan over medium-high heat, add a tablespoon of olive oil. Using your hands, mix well to incorporate. Kofta is basically a patty of well-seasoned, ground lamb–mixed with lots of garlic, parsley, mint, cumin and a touch of cinnamon. Another issue is that if you cook a pound of lamb patties in a skillet on a stove-top your house is going to smell like sautéed lamb patties for a noticeable amount of time...days really. Suitable for children if you reduce the amount of spice added. Unfortunately the store was out of lamb. Love this recipe. Portion size is rather small: for four adults, better add a big salad, fruit, or bread. Pulse until finely chopped … Delicious, easy recipe. This recipe is brought to you by Seasoned Cookery School. And for the kids, eating meat on a stick may be appealing enough to get them to try it! Kofta, also called “Kufteh” or “koofteh” is a Middle Eastern and South Asian comfort food often resembling a meatball or dumpling, although they can be made in various forms. It can be made numerous ways. This was a very tasty meal that came together quickly. Repeat the above process with the remaining lamb-mixture until you have made 10 kofta skewers. It gives a similar color and, alt