Details inside. All rights reserved. On some computers, when you want to connect to a network, it shows you the available ones, what their signal strength is and what channels they are on. And testing wifi is a challenge as different things influence wifi speeds. I bought a DLink DIR-655 router (image above) and my old router is a Netgear WNR2000v3 (next image). As part of the upgrade I ditched my Motorola Surfboard modem and am using their free Cisco DPC3008 cable modem. Do you have WMM enabled in the router settings? p.s. I'm not in the boonies, just a regular town in a densely populated part of the state. If you're somehow hitting 158mbps, you're not using the wnr2000 as it'll max out at 94-96mbps hardwired. I'm no router expert, but I believe the procedure I'll describe is applicable to routers from other manufacturers. What type of wireless security does WNR2000v3 support? Okay, I just upgraded the firmware, and now: Oh, and channel is set to automatic, which it also was before. 1 and 11 are optimal. You might be able to do the same thing just with the Macbook's built in wireless connection thing. Using tamosoft throughput test, I get about 20Mbps through both TCP up and UDP up. Prices and offers are subject to change. TCP down and UDP down both report about 14Mbps. Battery Powered Lamp That Turns on Through the Use of Magnets. The first step is to power on and do a hard reset of the old router. Unplugged modem and router to reboot te devices, did not help as got same slow speed. No change.I have tried adjust the mode between 54mbps, 150mbps, and 300mbps. The WNR2000 delivers the speed and reliability needed for Ask MetaFilter is where thousands of life's little questions are answered. This router was released in 2010 and a upgrade is highly recommended. Find user manuals, troubleshooting guides, firmware updates, and much more for your WNR2000v3 N300 wireless router on our NETGEAR Support site today. How can I make it faster? WiFi 6 Access Points and devices a