endobj This is usually a brand-new graduate from an Air Force technical school, usually in the rank of Amn (E-1) through A1C (E-3). And also that the Airforce conditions are overall just way better and you're treated with more respect. Copyright © 2008–2020, Glassdoor, Inc. "Glassdoor" and logo are registered trademarks of Glassdoor, Inc. { "isFollowing": false, "isEEPActive": false, "isEiHeaderFollowBtnDos2Enabled": false }, Current Employee - Security Forces Manager, Current Employee - Cyber Security Analyst. <> Oh joy! Both branches have their positives. I love Monterey (from Ca) so I like the idea of being based there as a Linguist in either branch for Language school. %PDF-1.5 Ok, first you have to make it through basic training. I have been working at US Air Force full-time for more than 10 years, can be stationed in-country; high ops tempo; language refreshers in-country every 1-2 years, not always utilized for your strengths/expertise, Job Security, opportunities for growth and travel, Long hours, times away from family, shift work, I have been working at US Air Force full-time, Challenging, Training, Duty, Purpose, and experience, Workload, pay, micromanagement, toxic leadership, and loss of connection from enlisted to officer. I served my mission in Sendai, Japan and then returned home to Idaho and married my wife Lauri. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts. I've been stationed in Korea for 12 of the last 22 years. endobj Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone. stream Once you have completed that, there are two routes you can go- The normal route is to go to the Defense Language Institute in Monterey California. Recommends. 2 0 obj Examples of languages learned by Air Force linguists include Spanish, Farsi, Russian, Japanese, English, Chinese, and Korean. <>/ProcSet[/PDF/Text/ImageB/ImageC/ImageI] >>/MediaBox[ 0 0 612 792] /Contents 4 0 R/Group<>/Tabs/S/StructParents 0>> I love Monterey (from Ca) so