Pingback: Africa’s fabric is nothing but African | VsQ – The Visual Squirrels. The origins of African clothing date back about 75,000 years. I will keep writing others. Different tribes throughout the continent pride themselves on their national dress which they use for ceremonies and special occasions. I am completely new to African style clothing, But now I knew a few things about it. The influence of the Arabian culture continues to be seen in the designs, embroideries, and long robes worn by some Africans in their daily lives. Dear Jean, I am so glad I could help. The Yoruba community takes pride in their traditional attires which are gender sensitive. However, despite being known as the quintessential ‘African fabric’ ankara was originally manufactured by the Dutch for the Indonesian textile market and then later diverted to West Africa. Yoruba men believe that the type of attire they put on depicts their social status and personality. Later on, they spun flax into linen and spun cotton. Pingback: Object: Quilt - UTSA Institute Of Texan Cultures, Pingback: Influences: the quilts and quilters of Gee’s Bend – Jan S. Gephardt's Artdog Studio, Pingback: Making the Most Out of a Limited Design Budget with African Prints | Ideal Doyle Couture, Pingback: HOW TO MAKE A QUILT WITH AFRICAN PRINTS | Ideal Doyle Couture, Pingback: The Significance Of The Kente Cloth In Asante Kingdom, Hi, thanks for your great article! The lies and deceit which Western countries have portrayed Africa is still deep seeded in history books. Clothing was not generally needed for warmth or Some of the classic features of African clothing pertain to its colours and prints. African clothing dates back to the Stone Age, when people wore fur and skins. Its application has gone beyond being just a wrap to being used as a base for hats, handbags, shoes and all manners of clothing, as well as décor items for the home. The spinach stew in Africa is made with peanut butter, chilies, onions, peppers and